Scroll down and click 
the red headings to see more.
Have something you would like 
to submit as a website/bugle item? 
Submissions must be approved
by Principal Diane Bagley, 
or Assistant Principal, Maria Rollinger. 
For time sensitive items,
please send submissions 
by 9:00 a.m., Tuesday mornings.
The Bugle will be sent weekly on
Wednesday afternoons.  
Please send submissions to 
For questions, please contact the 
main office at (612) 668.3580.
Add a bookmark (app icon) for this page 
to the home screen on your iOS or Android 
device for quick access.
Barton Receives Award for Waste Reduction
Tuesday, May 08, 2012 1:30 PM

Barton was one of three schools in Minnesota to receive the WRAP (Waste Reduction Awareness Program) Award from the Jeffers Foundation. During last week’s all- school morning meeting, Mr. Paul Oberg, the CEO of the Jeffers Foundation, presented Barton School with a $5,000 check and a plaque with the inscription:

In recognition of outstanding achievement in reducing the amount of waste generated each day in your school lunch program. Your care for the environment is an example for all students and schools.

Each student at Barton will also receive a reusable water bottle from the Jeffers Foundation.

Thirty one schools applied for the WRAP Award, which was open to all public and non-public schools in the state of Minnesota. Currently, Barton has the highest recycling rate of all Minneapolis Public Schools, diverting approximately 46% of its trash either through organics or mixed recycling (which amounts to approximately 1,000 pounds per week). The Jeffers Foundation will compile a "best practices" report featuring aspects of the most successful programs. This report will be shared with the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency and used as a resource for other schools in the state.

The Foundation was particularly impressed during a site visit with how students were responsible for their own sorting/recycling. Many thanks to the ROT team, custodial staff and teachers for initiating and supporting these efforts—and to the STUDENTS for taking the program and making it their own!