Scroll down and click 
the red headings to see more.
Have something you would like 
to submit as a website/bugle item? 
Submissions must be approved
by Principal Diane Bagley, 
or Assistant Principal, Maria Rollinger. 
For time sensitive items,
please send submissions 
by 9:00 a.m., Tuesday mornings.
The Bugle will be sent weekly on
Wednesday afternoons.  
Please send submissions to 
For questions, please contact the 
main office at (612) 668.3580.
Add a bookmark (app icon) for this page 
to the home screen on your iOS or Android 
device for quick access.
Barton Wins Debate Championship!
Monday, April 12, 2010 9:15 PM

Thursday, March 18, was the final debate tournament hosted by the Minnesota Urban Debate League.  The championship round was held at the University of Minnesota.  Judges for the round included State Supreme Court Justice Gildea, Dean of Hamline Law School, Don Lewis, Professor of Communications at the U of M, Ron Greene, and UDL North High Alum, Brittany Williams.

Competing in the championship round were teams from Barton and Sanford.  Barton emerged victorious.  Overall, more than 70 Barton 6th -- 8th graders competed/participated in the Urban League Debate Tournaments this year.  Congratulations to all of our Barton middle school debate team members for a terrific season!

Tournament Schedule
Friday, November 13, 2009 12:45 PM

Debate Team Tournaments will be held on the following dates (locations TBD unless noted):

  • October 29, 2009 -- Macalester College
  • December 3, 2009
  • February 4, 2010
  • March 18, 2010
First Tournament of the Year
Thursday, November 12, 2009 8:40 PM

The Barton Debate Team participated in their first debate tournament on Thursday, October 29, at Macalester College. We have had a lot of enthusiasm for the team, which includes 75 debaters in all, and yesterday their passion showed as 11 of the 13 teams that competed were undefeated! The 13th team won one of their matches. That makes Barton 25/26 in their first tournament!

Four of the five best speaker awards went to Barton: Dominica Asberry-Lindquist, Zoe Matticks, Sirine Benjafaar, and Kia Okuma. Furthermore, we accumulated 11/12 of the overall best debate pairs, including the top five: 5th place Dominica Asberry-Lindquist & Siobhan Brodek; 4th place Wyatt Lien & David Lilja; 3rd place: Sirine Benjaafar and Siri Neseth; 2nd place went to a different school, and the 1st place overall best team went to Kia Okuma and Zoe Matticks.

Other competitors included: Cam Tipping & Philip Gates, Jake Tank & Ronan Brooks, Josh Scal & Sarah Pogany, Whitney Burris, Claire Lapensky & Noah Posey, Jack McCrery, Naomi Osunkoya-Clark, and Kaiti Sjostrom, Shana Crawford & Donnie Wood, Shira Breen & Lily Eggers, Sabrina Keefe & Samie Johnson, and Salman Mohamed & Ezra Koetz.

Thanks for all the support!